The Cape Verdean Recognition Committee was established in 1972 under the name of the Cape Verdean Census Committee. In 1973, the name was changed to its present name. The committee was organized by a volunteer group composed of members of the Cape Verdean American Veteran’s Association, Inc., its Auxiliary, and interested and dedicated people from the community. The purpose, which continues today, is to celebrate and to recognize the culture and history of the Cape Verdean people in the United States.

Since its inception, the committee has held the Cape Verdean Recognition Parade during the first weekend in July. The first organizers were Edwin L. Livramento and Henry J. Barros. This year, we celebrate the 44th annual parade under the leadership of Diane Gomes. We are honoring Bernadino “Butch” Silva as our Honorary Grand Marshal.

The Scholarship Committee was established in 1959 and officially known as the Verdean Veteran’s Memorial Educational Aid Committee and its first chairman was Manuel A. Lopes and executive secretary was John Britto. The name was changed in 1973.

The Scholarship continues to be open to all graduating seniors from Greater New Bedford regardless of race, color or creed. The Scholarships are awarded on the basis of need, scholastic standing, extracurricular activities and leadership skills.

The first scholarships were awarded in 1960 and totaled $275.00. In the last 11 years we have awarded $252,000 to 268 recipients. Many of the previous recipients have completed their education today and are our lawyers, doctors, nurses, educators, administrators, social workers and community activists.

The committee is proud to continue this tradition and this year, under the leadership of Marilyn L. Gonsalves, the committee looks forward to awarding our deserving recipients at a ceremony on June 17th, at the Whaling Museum at 6pm.